Transition

Starting school marks an important milestone in the lives of young children. Recent studies suggest that children’s adjustment to their first year at school is strongly influenced by their familiarity with the school setting.

Helping to make the transition from home or a preschool setting to the school situation as smooth as possible is of paramount importance to the Prep Team at Mount Waverley Primary School. A great deal of thought and planning has gone into our program for 2016 and we believe it will:

  • assist preschoolers in making a successful adjustment to the school environment
  • offer an opportunity to participate in classroom activities
  • allow the children to practice skills necessary for school
  • encourage new friendships and develop a support system
  • provide information and support for parents

We extend a warm welcome to all preschool children and their parents who have successfully enrolled in MWPS to participate in some or all of the activities. We look forward to meeting you and your child.

2018 School Tours for families who reside in our catchment

Tuesday February 27 – 10.00am, Wednesday February 28- 12.00pm, Thursday March 1 – 10.00am

Tuesday March 13 – 12.00pm, Wednesday March 14 – 10.00am, Thursday March 15 – 12.00pm

Tuesday March 27 – 10.00am, Wednesday March 28 – 12.00pm, Thursday March 29 – 10.00am

Tuesday May 1 – 10.00am, Wednesday May 2 –  12.00pm, Thursday May 3 – 10.00am

Tuesday May 22 – 12.00pm, Wednesday May 23 – 10.00am, Thursday May 24 – 12.00pm

2018 term dates

Period Start Finish
Term 1 Tuesday, January 30 2018 Thursday, 29 March 2018
Term 2 Monday, 16 April 2018 Friday, 29 June 2018
Term 3 Monday, 16 July 2018 Friday, 21 September 2018
Term 4 Monday, 8 October 2018 Friday, 21 December 2018

2019 term dates

Period Start Finish
Term 1 Wednesday, January 30 2019 Friday, 5 April 2019
Term 2 Tuesday 23 April 2019 Friday, 26 June 2019
Term 3 Monday, 15 July 2019 Friday, 20 September 2019
Term 4 Monday, 7 October 2019 Friday, 20 December 2019